KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is this still an active project?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> KWSN Humanitarian DC Teams
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Morbus
Knight
Knight


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Longview, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morbus wrote:
Lol, I"ve actually noticed both of us dropping the past few days. We are stuck with room air conditioners and I blew up my RAID array (both disks at once, I'm talented), so I can't tell you if my dropping is me breaking stuff or the fact that I now live in a sauna with a couple cold zones.

I'll try your suggestion about no SLi for a week and see what it does to my average.

Now, I need some other advice....

How does one convince their wife that they should get (1) new 500$ motherboard, (1) 300$ processor, (2) 270$ graphics cards, and maybe a bigger power supply?

I figure, if the 560 with 448 cores is a better folder, I need one. Since this is a gaming rig and wouldn't be right without SLi on the primary adapters, I need two, since my motherboard only has 3 pcie slots, I need a new motherboard, the motherboard I want has 8 PCIe slots, and I can use 4 due to the width of the cards, yet its a dual processor board so I need another core i7 960...

She said no before I got to the part about justifying the motherboard for the PCIe slots... She just doesn't get me...


So, tried killing SLi for a week. PPD on the GPUs dropped to about 400 each 3 days in. I'm wondering if it's not the SLi bridge itsself that causes a problem. I'll try disconnecting that on my next round (in 2 days after crunchy frog passes me, gonne run at my best known speed till he beats me then start playing around).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Morbus
Knight
Knight


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Longview, WA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Putting_things_on_top wrote:
The venerable Sir Antigens is back on F@H again!
Thanks and #ni-1


We just need to round-up a few more Knights and propel ourselves out of the sub-100 team rankings!


And welcome back Sir Antigens!!! #ni-1 #ni-1 #ni-1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Putting_things_on_top
Duke
Duke


Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 435
Location: Frostbite Falls, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morbus wrote:
So, tried killing SLi for a week. PPD on the GPUs dropped to about 400 each 3 days in. I'm wondering if it's not the SLi bridge itsself that causes a problem. I'll try disconnecting that on my next round (in 2 days after crunchy frog passes me, gonne run at my best known speed till he beats me then start playing around).

Yeah, I'm fairly sure SLI and F@H don't work well.
WUs from F@H have been a hodge-podge, too!
My stats are erratic!

Well, Sir CrunchyFrog is certainly pulling-out the stops recently!
He might be amping up the SMP processing (overclocking?, etc?) since his announcement of "losing" some equipment in the near future...???
Regardless, his contributions have definitely helped in the quest to get back into the top 100 teams!


THANKS, Sir CrunchyFrog!!!!!!!!!!

_________________
Click here for...KWSN F@H team summary at EOC

Or here for...KWSN F@H team overtake at EOC


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gemjunkie
Prince
Prince


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 3517
Location: Earth, lately

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to drum up support for folding when I first joined KWSN to lukewarm response, we were ~95th then.

I'll fire up a GPU client on my 570 for a bit.


#ni-1
_________________




(older, before split CPID)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Putting_things_on_top
Duke
Duke


Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 435
Location: Frostbite Falls, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gemjunkie wrote:
I'll fire up a GPU client on my 570 for a bit.

Anything you can spare would be greatly appreciated!!!#ni-1

Sir Antigens has swung some powerful shrubbery equipment toward F@H again.
April 2012 - he dumped in ~2.6 million points!!!! WOW!
...and I was just about positioned to overtake him on total points... Crying or Very sad

Gemjunkie wrote:
I tried to drum up support for folding when I first joined KWSN to lukewarm response, we were ~95th then.

Yeah, I tried that too when were falling from ~86th.
Seems that there are some "BOINC-or-nothing" folks here, however.
Although I have never done BOINC, I guess I should consider doing some quid-pro-quo.
Once I get my 3rd F@H rig fully built, stabilized, & deployed...I should probably build a modest BOINC rig, huh?
Oh, yeah right! Me doing anything modest? Pfffft!!
_________________
Click here for...KWSN F@H team summary at EOC

Or here for...KWSN F@H team overtake at EOC


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gemjunkie
Prince
Prince


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 3517
Location: Earth, lately

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1st WU reported, 5757 pts.

I tried the AMD GPU client a few times over the last few months, all I get is "No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit." Confused
_________________




(older, before split CPID)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Putting_things_on_top
Duke
Duke


Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 435
Location: Frostbite Falls, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gemjunkie wrote:
I tried the AMD GPU client a few times over the last few months, all I get is "No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit." Confused

Is your ATI/Radeon card fairly new (to the market)?
The V7 client has the option to install a "whitelist".
See the F@H forum brief discussion here http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=83&t=21205
I think you just need to use something like GPU-Z to find the card's actual PCI-ID and Mgfr-ID, and add it to the GPU.txt file.

Pande Group is notoriously slow at getting 'official', embedded support for new-to-market cards (and rolling those into the client-app).
PG however, seems to give preferential treatment to ATI for new FAHcore deployments.

I will likely have to fake-out my new GTX-680s (when ASUS actually gets their product out) in the same way.
_________________
Click here for...KWSN F@H team summary at EOC

Or here for...KWSN F@H team overtake at EOC


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gemjunkie
Prince
Prince


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 3517
Location: Earth, lately

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, a HD5770 and 2 HD5870's.
_________________




(older, before split CPID)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Putting_things_on_top
Duke
Duke


Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 435
Location: Frostbite Falls, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gemjunkie wrote:
No, a HD5770 and 2 HD5870's.
Hmmm...curious.
These are quite stable cards, and have been out for quite a while.
Not real sure why Stanford is saying "no appropriate work server..."
Maybe (because it's referring to the 'server') it could be due to maintenance issues on their side???

I've had that happen once or twice a few months ago, but not recently.

I also remember that avast! a/v intercepted a connection attempt (once).
I had to explicitly tell it to allow any out-bound connections to 129.74.85.*
That was just after I had upgraded avast! to its newest full-release.
_________________
Click here for...KWSN F@H team summary at EOC

Or here for...KWSN F@H team overtake at EOC


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Morbus
Knight
Knight


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Longview, WA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same response out of the v7 client on my linux box. So if you're running linux, apparently gpu folding isn't supported yet.

I did google that, don't remember where I read what I read, but v7/linux/gpu apparently isn't working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Concrete-mixing Moose
Prince
Prince


Joined: 30 Apr 2012
Posts: 567
Location: The Joyce Grenfell Home for the Distressed

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/LinGuide

Linux Install Guide

Software Version 7+ (V7)

•GPU Slot Requirements
◦GPU support is not currently offered
◦An unsupported configuration using WINE may be possible
_________________

Save my home - click every day on the picture!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Morbus
Knight
Knight


Joined: 16 Jul 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Longview, WA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concrete-mixing Moose wrote:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/LinGuide

Linux Install Guide

Software Version 7+ (V7)

•GPU Slot Requirements
◦GPU support is not currently offered
◦An unsupported configuration using WINE may be possible


Yep! Thats the one! I considered trying to run it on WINE, but I didn't really see the point to trying to push a 32-bit program through a compatibility layer on a 64-bit OS, when my SMP numbers running 64-bit native took a hit too.

I then tried v7 in windows native on the same machine and over a week came out with an average of about 2500-3k less on the SMP.

In the 2 weeks it took me to try that all out, I saw a drop of 10k'ish ppd on EOC. So for my machine, it's apparently at its happiest running FAH GPU Tracker V2 http://fahtracker.com/. Produces the same ridiculous amount of heat, but more points.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
KWSN-Crunchy Frog
Baron
Baron


Joined: 05 Jul 2002
Posts: 136
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Morbus wrote:
I'll try disconnecting that on my next round (in 2 days after crunchy frog passes me, gonne run at my best known speed till he beats me then start playing around).


Not quite. I discovered that my current main workhorse has shrubbed for a KWSN-ChrunchyFrog. Spot the typo!

Still for the looniest team in the listings...

I'm looking for a way to merge the accounts...

The production will now make for a quick passing. I promise it won't hurt. #ni-1
Cats play with their prey, Frogs just swallow.
_________________
Ni! Ni!

KWSN-Crunchy Frog
P.S.: It wouldn't be crunchy then, would it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> KWSN Humanitarian DC Teams All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats