KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Monitor turning on & off

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sir Papa Smurph
Cries like a little girl
Prince


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 4428
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:24 pm    Post subject: Monitor turning on & off Reply with quote

I don't know what to do and I have goggled this problem to no avail, so here goes.

The monitor on one of my boxes switches on and off sometimes 8 or 10 times when using Mozilla Firefox. The program keeps running with no interruption, but the screen goes blank and then comes back on. just like if you shut off the power. This happens to a lesser extent on IE. I have tried uninstalling Firefox and reinstalling it. I have put another monitor on it, and I have put another video card in it, same problem. This is a spare box used by guests and is primarily a Shrubber ( sometimes gamer for Lan parties ).

I have also un-installed and re-installed drivers.

I am at a loss, any ideas???
_________________
a.k.a. Licentious of Borg.........Resistance Really is Futile.......
and a Really Hoopy Frood who always knows where his Towel is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToeBee
KWSN Castellan
KWSN Castellan


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 601
Location: Manhattan, KS

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the monitor actually click off or go into sleep mode or does the picture just go blank for a second? Is it a CRT or LCD? If it is a CRT and is actually clicking off it may just be going bad... the fact that it happens in one program more than another could just depend on the color scheme that the program uses. I have seen CRTs that start to cut out when a certain amount of white pixels are on the screen but they work fine on dark screens. More white = more power flowing through the electron guns. Don't think I've seen this with LCDs though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Al Dente
Prince
Prince


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 3228
Location: Leodis, the jewel at the end of the yellow brick road (or M1)

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried a different cable? Could just be a bad contact.

Al
_________________
Creationists believe they never evolved; I agree with them.

. . My Milestones . . My Full BOINC list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir Papa Smurph
Cries like a little girl
Prince


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 4428
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monitor clicks (audibly, just like power saving off mode ) It is a CRT and it has done it on 2 different monitors. However I have not replaced the cord. Good idea, I will try that on tue or wed. Must sleep, driving to Tennessee in morning.

Ps: seems to do it more when watching videos. ie You tube. #ni-1
_________________
a.k.a. Licentious of Borg.........Resistance Really is Futile.......
and a Really Hoopy Frood who always knows where his Towel is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrorless
Mail Order Goat Bride
Prince


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 11206
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also try looking at the video ccard. Over the summer my monitor was going black then woudl come back on, it kept getting worse (more frequent) until the computer was unuseable. New card - problem go bye bye.

It turns out the capacitors were leaking.
_________________
Fetch me the Holy Hand Grenade!

#Usa


Keeper of the Unending keg of PGGBs
Taunter in Training
Campaign Manager for Sir Shrubbery



Plus

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir Papa Smurph
Cries like a little girl
Prince


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 4428
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turns out ( I think ) that for some reason the monitor keeps defaulting to some setting that does not display a picture. Not sure what to call it, there are buttons on the front of the monitor to make adjustments to size, placement, etc. These controls appear to be writing, photos, gaming and the one that is giving me the problem looks like a human.

I don't know but it seems to now default to that position and I have to push the button and move it to one of the other 3 for the monitor to work at all.

That monitor only gets used for guests and runs on 3 machines for when I need to check Boinc. The heck with it I will just live with it.
_________________
a.k.a. Licentious of Borg.........Resistance Really is Futile.......
and a Really Hoopy Frood who always knows where his Towel is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mohrorless
Mail Order Goat Bride
Prince


Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 11206
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir Papa Smurph wrote:
Turns out ( I think ) that for some reason the monitor keeps defaulting to some setting that does not display a picture. Not sure what to call it<snip>


Most of us would call it the broken setting...... Rolling Eyes
_________________
Fetch me the Holy Hand Grenade!

#Usa


Keeper of the Unending keg of PGGBs
Taunter in Training
Campaign Manager for Sir Shrubbery



Plus

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al Dente
Prince
Prince


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 3228
Location: Leodis, the jewel at the end of the yellow brick road (or M1)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir Papa Smurph wrote:
The heck with it I will just live with it.


or use it as an excuse to get a new, cheap, LCD monitor. Laughing
_________________
Creationists believe they never evolved; I agree with them.

. . My Milestones . . My Full BOINC list
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloyd M.
Prince
Prince


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir Papa Smurph wrote:
Turns out ( I think ) that for some reason the monitor keeps defaulting to some setting that does not display a picture. Not sure what to call it<snip>


mohrorless wrote:
Most of us would call it the broken setting...... Rolling Eyes


That's what ended happening with my son's old monitor, though I can't complain, because I dumpster (well, trashcan) dived it to start with.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats