KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Einstein / Boinc / Page Swap size help

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KWSN Im Not Dead
Prince
Prince


Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 710
Location: East Tennessee

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:38 pm    Post subject: Einstein / Boinc / Page Swap size help Reply with quote

On my new Quad I have been having problems with Einstein (Rosetta is fine). The machine spends the full amount of time to work on the Einstein job (8-9 hours) but then it shows an error status and gives me no credit.

I checked the Einstein forums and am going to try a couple of suggestions they have on how to fix this problem:
1) Uninstall Boinc and move it to a folder that is not under \Program Files.
2) Update Boinc to the most current version.
3) Run a stress test on my machine to make sure I dont have a faulty harddrive.
4) Disable automatic updated by Windows (ill let it download, but ill choose the install/reboot time).


However my boinc question is:
When running both of these project on a Quad 2.4 with 2 gig of ram, how large should my page file size be set to? Currently I have it set to 3086 - 3086, but I am thinking that maybe I need to up it? I really dont know how much/often these projects write to the disk, so I am not sure if that is sufficent, too big, or not big enough??? I dont know if having four jobs running at once is too much HD activity for that size of a page swap?


Also because Einstein does take so much time to complete, is there another project that, like Rosetta, has short WU's (1-3 hours or so)...that way if I do loose the work I dont loose 8-10 hours worth. I thought about trying TSP or Yoyo or MilkyWay, but all of those are either in Beta or Alpha states...not sure I trust one in those states....maybe im worried about nothing?
_________________

KWSNImNotDead - "I don't want to go on the cart!". It is spelled LooNies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
KWSN-HoC
KWSN ArchBishop
KWSN ArchBishop


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 1350
Location: German Quadrant

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well swap space or windows page file size is almost a science itself ...it depends on your physical memory space (2GB inyour case) and on the memory needs of the applications running.

I use under XP at default around 1.5 times of installed physical memory (on my XP box with 2GB RAM I use to have a paging file from 3 to 3 GB) and I'll change it in steps of 1GB if the taskmanager says "hey no more free ressources" in XP. Under Vista there is another mechanism working which allocate lots of physical RAM and tries to expect dynamically which app will use this allocated memory next (that is called SuperFetch).

So under Vista my default is to let Vista decide how big the paging file should be.

Looking at QuadCores I prefer to use 1 GB per core ......

I'm doing Milkyway, Lattice, Spinhenge, TSP, POEM, LHC and never got any major trouble with projects in beta state, sometimes a WU crashes or there is no work but no serious issue until now .....

Cheers

HoC
_________________
Housekeeper of Camelot

Mastrumistulo de Kameloto

(also a Member of the Migratory Coconuts)

'My name is Homer from Borg. Resistance is fu ..... Oh doughnuts!'


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ohiomike
Prince
Prince


Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 858
Location: Sometimes

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One trick that helps speed up Windoze- If you have 2 drives, use a small (64K) fixed swap on the drive that Windows is on and a larger fixed "real" swap on the other drive (I generally "ignore the rule of thumb" and just use 1 GB/core).
_________________

Resident Linux fan and credit ho >My Shrubbers<
Proud member of the "Fry a CPU for breakfast club"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sir Papa Smurph
Cries like a little girl
Prince


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 4428
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about swap size ( I have 2gb ram and 2.5 gb swap file) but I quit running Einstein as about 50% were errors. I run Cosmo, Tsp and Milkyway. Milky errors occasionally but they are very small units <10 min.

Btw: the team is currently challenging Seti Usa in TSP, and the help would be appreciated. ( we are getting our asses handed to us ) #ni-1
_________________
a.k.a. Licentious of Borg.........Resistance Really is Futile.......
and a Really Hoopy Frood who always knows where his Towel is...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats