KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Local and semi remote power switching

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Grizzly
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 3136
Location: Creepy (Crawlley)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:12 pm    Post subject: Local and semi remote power switching Reply with quote

Hullo and Ni!

Anybody out there got any experience(*) Shocked of these? (Or similar)
http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=AP7920

I want a power dist rack mount unit, to power/depower rack boxes without "fart-arssing" arround at ter'back of rack Embarassed

Power consumption indication woul be nice Very Happy . Keyboard initiation would be great also.
I could "cobble" one up with rocker switches and suitable wires, but it would mean getting out of my chair to "Rock" the switch Shocked

Regds Grizz.
_________________
Oh Bugger Forgot again - or is it Oh Father Reboot again ?

Ps Grizz in his second childhood - but not his last !

Edihtor of the KoKC (excused spel;l checher'er)

AND NI !!! Tophat 10e

[img]http://www.katrinashome.com/grizzly_counter.php[/[url=http://www.katrinashome.com/] ][/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Cohiba
Prince
Prince


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 1721
Location: A tabbaco plantation

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my rack mounted ups by apc is great. If you run windows you can use there software to not only graph and keep track of voltages and power consumption. Not sure if that has the same functionality but most APC come with lots of bells and whistles. For reliability I've found none better than APC. Infact went on a computer call last weekend that my ups isn't working anymore, was a APC asked when the battery was last changed, never, UPS was over 5 years old and worked up till about 2 weeks ago when it could no longer hold a charge.
_________________
Smoke-em if you got-em I do..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
alpha_fruit
Prince
Prince


Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 5803
Location: Western North Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL our APC is about 9 years old and still ticking like new. #ni-1
_________________
Don't fuss about growing older, many are denied the chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Sir Prize
Baron
Baron


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 223
Location: Isle of Saints, Scholars, Shebeens and Spike

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never had a ups. Mains is too reliable round here.

Sir_Prize
_________________
I speak Esperanto like a native - Spike Milligan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats