KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Guru's needed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
KWSN imcrazynow
Prince
Prince

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:23 am    Post subject: Guru's needed Reply with quote

I'm thinking of building a computer from scratch. I want one B.A. shrubbing machine that I can do anything else I want with at the same time.
This will be on a budget but want Pentium D. I've never done this before so any and all help is greatly appreciated. Try to keep it in the 6-700.00 dollar range.
This machine will shrub 24/7/365

And a few that won't update for some reason.

4870 GPU
Cohiba
Prince
Prince

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what are you asking? Our recomendations? or step by step? Personaly I wouldn't go Pentium D i'd go AMD. Main thing to keep in mind for a 24/7 shrubber, RAM always good more the better 1 gig, Hard drive, not realy a factor, but SATA good. Cooling, can't say enough about cooling, cooler you run the longer your machine and processor will last, and even allow for overclocking. A uber shrubber will cost you more than 400-600 unfortunatly, a decent shrubber will run about that much, still can buy a killer emachine from best buy cheaper than you could build it, buying the components individualy. The I can build it cheaper than a premade is not necessarily the case, unless your buying used/referb equipment or can catch deals on new equipment at a flee market or computer show.
Grizzly
Prince
Prince

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:36 am    Post subject: Re: Guru's needed Reply with quote

imcrazynow wrote: