KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

new dualie (XP), now I need HELP!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KWSN_hgs
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 910
Location: location, location.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:57 am    Post subject: new dualie (XP), now I need HELP! Reply with quote

'k, got a new dualie to put to work, but it's an XP machine and, well, I don't do XP (yet). So I want to run the client version on both procs which according to Stanford means I pretty much just have to run it and voila.

But (there's always one isn't there!)

When I do start>run and naviguess to the client version and then attempt to use the -local and -configonly flags (for initial setup, although -local will be forever) windoze barfs and rejects the commandment. Here's what displays in the run window...

"C:\Program Files\F@H2\FAH502-Console.exe -local -configonly"

So the question from the simpleton is, how do I run console with flags?

Mucho thanks -- gotta keep ahead of those kowz
_________________
now, where was I???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Millennium Knight
Duke
Duke


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:18 am    Post subject: Re: new dualie (XP), now I need HELP! Reply with quote

KWSN_hgs wrote:
'k, got a new dualie to put to work, but it's an XP machine and, well, I don't do XP (yet). So I want to run the client version on both procs which according to Stanford means I pretty much just have to run it and voila.

But (there's always one isn't there!)

When I do start>run and naviguess to the client version and then attempt to use the -local and -configonly flags (for initial setup, although -local will be forever) windoze barfs and rejects the commandment. Here's what displays in the run window...

"C:\Program Files\F@H2\FAH502-Console.exe -local -configonly"

So the question from the simpleton is, how do I run console with flags?

Mucho thanks -- gotta keep ahead of those kowz


Try this instead:

"C:\Program Files\F@H2\FAH502-Console.exe" -local -configonly
_________________
One who takes snippets of reality and weaves them into his own imaginary world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWSN_hgs
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 910
Location: location, location.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beauty, bonus.

Thanks MK!
_________________
now, where was I???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ToeBee
KWSN Castellan
KWSN Castellan


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 601
Location: Manhattan, KS

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or you could just switch to BOINC which handles dualies automatically Smile
We need to catch team lamb chop in the combined stats! (http://boinc-kwsn.no-ip.info/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fart in your gen direxion
I am the goatse.cx guy
Prince


Joined: 24 May 2002
Posts: 2022
Location: Regrettably for you, I'm Upwind in Upstate N.Y.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MacG wrote:
Or you could just switch to BOINC which handles dualies automatically Smile
We need to catch team lamb chop in the combined stats! (http://boinc-kwsn.no-ip.info/)


Mmmmmmmmmmm, lamb chops.

Mmmmmmmmmmmm, sheeeeeeeeeeeep !



#ni-2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ToeBee
KWSN Castellan
KWSN Castellan


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 601
Location: Manhattan, KS

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are one sick individual!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mildew
KWSN ArchBishop
KWSN ArchBishop


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 2615
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heya Granny!

You can't just go and get a duallie and think you can get away without providing some numbers for the stats whores! Mad

What kind of machine is it? Old MP or Opteron?
What's the clock frequency?
How many points per day are you getting from it?
Is that with 'normal' gromacs units, or the new big ones with the bonus points?

Gimme the stats, dammit! Wink

Mildew
King of the Stats Whores
_________________


An nescis, mi fili, quantilla prudentia mundus regatur?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWSN_hgs
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 910
Location: location, location.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oops, bad bad manners...

lessee...

2x 3.02G Xeon with a real bizzare motherboard (it's a Dell) that was supposed to be a "Matlab screamer" but came with -- PC2700 RAM and won't support anything faster. So it's not so fast afterall if you're memory intensive, which is why I ended up with it!

As for shrub count, EMIII tells me that its now working (both procs?) on P936, which is a 107 pointer, and it should take about 8.5 - 9 hours. Thus, each proc should be pumping out 300 or so shrubs per day (if they're all of this ilk, double gromacs...)

Other tidbits from the log from the fast proc (the one that isn't distracted by windoze)...

Protein: p724_Abeta21-43-amberGS, 12.5 hours
Protein: p730_gsgs_sd_h2o, 4 hours 10 minutes.

It's gotten mostly 936s though...

Oh, and the dualie I put into the house is a 2x2.5G PowerMac (yes, I got one there too!) and I haven't looked at its logs as I'm trying to figure out how to block AOL IM traffic on the new 802.11 network. But it's pretty quick, I think. Quieter than this Xeon by a long shot.

(Frank... this 'xplains why I'm catching up with you!!!)
_________________
now, where was I???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frank the Historian
Prince
Prince


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 781
Location: Up North, Down East

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KWSN_hgs wrote:
(Frank... this 'xplains why I'm catching up with you!!!)


Shocked Everybody look out!!!! Shocked Hell's Grannies on the loose! Shocked Defenceless young men unite!! Shocked Oh, the humanity!!!!!! Crying or Very sad

Razz #ni-1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Mildew
KWSN ArchBishop
KWSN ArchBishop


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 2615
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

300 points per processor!? Shocked

That's impressive.
The double gromacs give more points, but still...

Thanks for the info. Very Happy
_________________


An nescis, mi fili, quantilla prudentia mundus regatur?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KWSN_hgs
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Mar 2004
Posts: 910
Location: location, location.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, now the XT dualie is getting served 241 pt Tinkers (p112x_p678...) which are projected at 42 hours... ppd on these is about 137. Kind-o-a big difference from the ddoouubbllee ggrroommaaccss. Rolling Eyes
_________________
now, where was I???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats