KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dimes in Ubuntu

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John Galt 007
Prince
Prince


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 1206
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 10:45 am    Post subject: Dimes in Ubuntu Reply with quote

Can anyone give me some help setting up DImes in Ubuntu? I got the Windows insatll down, but don't know how to get it running in my linux boxes.
_________________

http://stephenbrooks.org/muon1/banner.php?user=[KWSN]John%20Galt%20007
http://stats.free-dc.org/mosttag.php?cpid=f7e8c5dfbccfce7e6054e7a84c151aa4&theme=4.png

( • )Y( • )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yankton
Prince
Prince


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 1702
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I went to install it in Ubuntu and it wants a version of the java-sdk (1.4) that is obsolete. Let me dig around a bit and I'll work up some instructions for it. Or Dimes could update their software, but hopefully no biggie.
_________________
Some days are worse than others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yankton
Prince
Prince


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 1702
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

alrighty,

First you need to install an old java environment.

Open Synaptic and install sun-java5-jdk

Once that is done run the following command:

Code:
sudo update-alternatives --config java


Select the 1.5 java

Code:
sudo bash -c "echo JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/ >> /etc/environment"


Next, unfortunately you need to update your environment. easiest way is to log out and then log back in (you do not need to reboot)

next, download the software from the DIMES download page http://www.netdimes.org/new/?q=node/10

I downloaded the service version, place it in a directory where you want to install it, then open a terminal and cd to it.

Now we have to unpack it.

Code:
tar -xvf DIMES_Linux.tar.gz


And then install it

Code:
sh linuxInstall.sh
sh linuxAgent.sh


It also has scripts for setting it as a service, but it was being cranky for me, but this will get the agent up and running for you.

I went back and downloaded just the agent, unpacked it and it was giving some errors when I tried to configure/install it so I'll play with it later, but the above will get the agent running. If you run it on windows then you know more about running it then I do, give it a whirl and if it still is giving you issues let me know. it should be relaunchable with the sh linuxAgent.sh command if you have to restart for some reason, or you can make a shortcut command on your desktop.
_________________
Some days are worse than others.


Last edited by Yankton on Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt 007
Prince
Prince


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 1206
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything was going swimingly until:
Quote:

bash ./agent.sh
Verifying JAVA_HOME... [OK]
Verifying Java Executable... [OK]
Checking Java version......[FAILED]
Error: Wrong java version. Should be 1.4.*
make: *** [run] Error 1

Where do I get this version?

I am using Ubuntu 8.04...Thanks a million...

Very Happy
_________________

http://stephenbrooks.org/muon1/banner.php?user=[KWSN]John%20Galt%20007
http://stats.free-dc.org/mosttag.php?cpid=f7e8c5dfbccfce7e6054e7a84c151aa4&theme=4.png

( • )Y( • )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yankton
Prince
Prince


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 1702
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was the first error I got but it decided to play nice with JRE 1.5

when you used:

Code:
sudo update-alternatives --config java


Did you select:

Code:
/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/bin/java


Next type

Code:
cat /etc/environment


And verify that there is a line:

Code:
JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/


If there is another line in there that starts with JAVA_HOME, then you have to edit the file and comment it out with a #

For example:

Code:
#JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/


Then log out and back in again and try the install. The requirement for an older java environment should be the only issue with the install that you get. Let me know how this goes and if it doesn't work I'll hit it with a hammer until it gets worked out!
[/code]
_________________
Some days are worse than others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt 007
Prince
Prince


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 1206
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is what I have:
Quote:
setislave4@setislave4-desktop:~$ sudo update-alternatives --config java

There are 5 alternatives which provide `java'.

Selection Alternative
-----------------------------------------------
* 1 /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/bin/java
2 /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/jre/bin/java
3 /usr/bin/cacao
4 /usr/bin/jamvm
+ 5 /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-openjdk/jre/bin/java

Press enter to keep the default[*], or type selection number: 1
Using '/usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun/jre/bin/java' to provide 'java'.
setislave4@setislave4-desktop:~$ cat /etc/environment
PATH="/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games"
JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/
JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/
JAVA_HOME=/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun/
setislave4@setislave4-desktop:~$


How do I edit /etc/environment? gedit won't let me, since I am not logged in as root.

EDIT: Used Alt-F2 and editied the file, and got it running. Now I can't configure it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Yankton
Prince
Prince


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 1702
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly are you trying to configure? I don't run dimes so I need a reference to play with.
_________________
Some days are worse than others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yankton
Prince
Prince


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 1702
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sir JG,

Did you get it figured out then? All shrubbing on the dimes front?
_________________
Some days are worse than others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John Galt 007
Prince
Prince


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 1206
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the agent to work, but the PC I installed it on is a bridged connection, and won't let me thru for ping and tracert. That one is fraked. I am going to try it on my linux farm at home when I get the chance. Thanks for your help. I greatly appreciate it. Next round of PGGBs are on me...


Wink
_________________

http://stephenbrooks.org/muon1/banner.php?user=[KWSN]John%20Galt%20007
http://stats.free-dc.org/mosttag.php?cpid=f7e8c5dfbccfce7e6054e7a84c151aa4&theme=4.png

( • )Y( • )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats