KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index KWSN Orbiting Fortress
KWSN Distributed Computing Teams forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

AMD Phenom 9600 Warning/Notes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ohiomike
Prince
Prince


Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 858
Location: Sometimes

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 4:44 am    Post subject: AMD Phenom 9600 Warning/Notes Reply with quote

Just added an AMD Phenom 9600 to my collection. It had problems. The TLB errata shows up on the 9600 (did not on the 9500). It would run for about an hour an then go belly-up with a Machine Check Exception. The Bios fix works (if you can get it for your motherboard), but costs between 10 and 28% in performance (depending on who's numbers you use). If you are running Linux how ever, AMD issued (leaked?) a kernel patch that over-rides the Bios fix, and instead traps and corrects the error- much better performance. If anyone running Linux wants a copy of this patch (2.6.23.x kernel), PM me.

PS- If you plan on running Windoze, I would suggest holding off on a purchase until they get the problem fixed.
_________________

Resident Linux fan and credit ho >My Shrubbers<
Proud member of the "Fry a CPU for breakfast club"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grizzly
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 3136
Location: Creepy (Crawlley)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info Mike , but I guess this is under a Linux install ?
Have you tried under Windows ? If so same problem ?
BTW - err , what is TLB errata ? (Do I need one Shocked )
Are you able to do a compare between the 9500 and the 9600 at the moment . Ie , is it worth the extra money for 0.2 Giggles ?

Regds Grizz
_________________
Oh Bugger Forgot again - or is it Oh Father Reboot again ?

Ps Grizz in his second childhood - but not his last !

Edihtor of the KoKC (excused spel;l checher'er)

AND NI !!! Tophat 10e

[img]http://www.katrinashome.com/grizzly_counter.php[/[url=http://www.katrinashome.com/] ][/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Mildew
KWSN ArchBishop
KWSN ArchBishop


Joined: 13 Oct 2002
Posts: 2615
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally I went with the 9600, since the extra cost is almost negligable (~20).
If I were getting one today, I'd go with the 9600 black edition, since that one is zero (!) extra compared to the 9600, and can probably be clocked a bit.

I haven't been able to unpack and install the 9600 yet (life is busy right now), so I don't know if the TLB issue shows up.

If you're in the market for a new computer, the best bet is probably to get a Q9450 in February... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sir Furry Mark
KWSN ArchBishop
KWSN ArchBishop


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 3261
Location: To the West of Iceni

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there any benchmarks on the Q9450?
I'm currently angling for a dual E5420 server and a Q6600 workstation, but I might be able to delay the Q6600...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ohiomike
Prince
Prince


Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 858
Location: Sometimes

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grizzly wrote:
Thanks for the info Mike , but I guess this is under a Linux install ?
Have you tried under Windows ? If so same problem ?
BTW - err , what is TLB errata ? (Do I need one Shocked )
Are you able to do a compare between the 9500 and the 9600 at the moment . Ie , is it worth the extra money for 0.2 Giggles ?

Regds Grizz

1) Haven't run it under Windoze (don't feel like giving Bill another $140).
2) 9600 is a little faster, but it re-boots every 2-6 hours (I've got it setup to re-boot on a kernel panic), so it's hard to tell yet- still dealing with AMD & the MB manufacture. No problems with the 9500. It appears the faster the CPU, the worse the problem (thats why they stopped the 9700 release).

TLB (Machine Check Exception, Translation Look-aside Buffer):
AMD Family 10h revision B2 processors suffer from an issue in the
processor TLB known as erratum 298. Erratum 298 is documented in
a forthcoming update to the Revision Guide for AMD Family 10h
Processors (PID 41322). The workaround in the Revision Guide
document is intended to be applied by BIOS.
_________________

Resident Linux fan and credit ho >My Shrubbers<
Proud member of the "Fry a CPU for breakfast club"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ohiomike
Prince
Prince


Joined: 20 May 2007
Posts: 858
Location: Sometimes

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what a Linux crash/re-start looks like with a Phenom 9600:
==========================================
[ 223.642615]
[ 223.642616] HARDWARE ERROR
[ 223.642617] CPU 2: Machine Check Exception: 4 Bank 0: b611c00000000175
[ 223.714662] TSC 785cc7bd63 ADDR 7b7a7180
[ 223.738857] This is not a software problem!
[ 223.763926] Run through mcelog --ascii to decode and contact your hardware vendor
[ 223.808747] Kernel panic - not syncing: Machine check
[ 223.838996] Rebooting in 10 seconds..Red Hat nash version 6.0.19 starting
Welcome to Fedora
Press 'I' to enter interactive startup.
Setting clock (localtime): Wed Jan 16 01:05:43 EST 2008 [ OK ]
==========================================
(Repeat every 2 to 5 hours. PS- BioStar is NO help- "We don't support Linux").

Luckily for me, when I swapped my 9500 & 9600 between motherboards,
they are both happy now. I looks like the 9600 just won't run right in a
BioStar TF560 A2+, but appears to be happy in the ECS A770M-A.
_________________

Resident Linux fan and credit ho >My Shrubbers<
Proud member of the "Fry a CPU for breakfast club"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Grizzly
Prince
Prince


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 3136
Location: Creepy (Crawlley)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike .

So allways a similar problem , choose the CPU and MoBo (and RAM) with informed care .

Grizz
_________________
Oh Bugger Forgot again - or is it Oh Father Reboot again ?

Ps Grizz in his second childhood - but not his last !

Edihtor of the KoKC (excused spel;l checher'er)

AND NI !!! Tophat 10e

[img]http://www.katrinashome.com/grizzly_counter.php[/[url=http://www.katrinashome.com/] ][/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    KWSN Orbiting Fortress Forum Index -> Ye Olde Help Scrolls All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Optimized Seti@Home App | BOINC Stats